Parklife: Athens State Orchestra - Journey to the New World
Syggrou Avenue 364, Kallithea, 17674

Parklife: Athens State Orchestra - Journey to the New World


On 15/09, the Athens State Orchestra returns to Stavros Niarchos Park for the third time and takes us on a Journey to the New World!

15 September, 2019

With a Journey to the New World, The Athens State Orchestra – the most historic orchestral music ensemble in Greece – returns for the third year to the Stavros Niarchos Park’s Great Lawn on Sunday 15 September at 21.00.

This journey takes us through the characteristic melodies of North and South America – a music tradition that remains fascinating in its diversity.

The focus is on three iconic composers of the Americas – the Argentinean tango master Astor Piazzolla and two Americans, the classical and popular music legend George Gershwin and the trailblazer Leonard Bernstein.

Sharing the stage with The Athens State Orchestra, the accordion and bandoneon virtuoso Klaudiusz Baran and his bandoneon will be the perfect guide for this journey; the orchestra will be conducted by distinguished Greek conductor Georgios Vranos.

The program:

Astor Piazzolla (1921-1992)
Adios Nonino, Oblivion, Libertango, Fuga y Misterio

George Gershwin (1898-1937)
An American in Paris

Leonard Bernstein (1918-1990)
Symphonic Dances from West Side Story

Conductor: Georgios Vranos
Soloist: Klaudiusz Baran (bandoneon)

Sunday 15/09 | 21.00
Free admission

*Visitors are advised to bring insect repellent and a mat, or a blanket for sitting on the ground.

Share this: